Meet Physical Therapists: Jenny & Garrett York


Garrett York

Hometown: I am originally from Frisco, Texas.

Degree: I graduated from Hardin-Simmons University in 2010 with a Doctorate of Physical Therapy. My motivation to become a physical therapist was a mix between receiving physical therapy myself and the enjoyment of training individuals.

Career: As a practicing physical therapist for the past seven and a half years, I specialize in orthopedic injuries. I am able to treat dysfunctions from head to toes. Outside of enduraLAB, I am a Director of Physical Therapy at Orthopedic Sports Medicine Institute.

Free time: I like to play golf, lift weights and play video games. Jenny would probably say I obsessively clean in my free time.

Philanthropy: My brother has muscular dystrophy, so I always have an interest in charities that are raising money for a cure.

Netflix Binge: Parks and Recreation

Inspiration: My wife Jenny inspires me with fitness and life. She just became a Certified Functional Manual Therapist (CFMT), which is ridiculous. She is also always kicking my butt in the gym.

Motivation Technique: I keep my clients motivated by nagging them about their exercises. I constantly remind them that I am only able to do 50 percent or less of the work, the rest is up to them. I can't go home with them and make sure they are compliant.

Favorite Restaurant: Too many. I am a sucker for a good steak. I love Del Frisco’s and Edohana.

Favorite / Least Favorite Workouts: My favorite workouts are always chippers. I like the consistent grind. I feel like I achieved something when it's all said and done. My least favorite workouts are the maxes. I'm old and can't lift what I used to.

Song: I love rap but any Disney tune is my jam for workout out, I can show you the world.....

Bucket List: I would love to travel to Europe and play Pebble Beach.

Jenny York

Hometown: I grew up in Salt Lake City, Utah. My dad works in the oil and gas industry, so we moved around a bit! While I was at Texas A&M, my parents moved to Calgary, Canada, so I've had the opportunity to experience living in quite a few different places!

Degree: I attended the University of North Texas Health Science Center. I graduated in the first physical therapy class with a Doctor of Physical Therapy degree. I have since received a certification in becoming a Certified Functional Manual Therapist (CFMT) through the Institute of Physical Art.

Career: I have been a practicing physical therapist for five years with a specialty in orthopedics. Outside of enduraLAB, I have the privilege of working with the ballet dancers with Texas Ballet Theater. I am also a staff therapist at the Orthopedic Sports Medicine Institute.

Free time: Hanging out with Garrett is pretty fun (although he may have a very different opinion now that we work together...hah!). I absolutely love spending time with friends, family and our two dogs. Exercise is also a big part of my life; I love anything from running to yoga to getting my butt kicked at the LAB.

Philanthropy: Our dogs are rescues, so I have a special place in my heart for any rescue service. As Garrett mentioned, muscular dystrophy is unfortunately a big part of his family life, and that is a cause we are both passionate about.

Netflix Binge: I don't have a Netflix binge at the moment, but I have read A Handmaid's Tale and am caught up on the first season on HULU. I also just started Red Rising by Pierce Brown. I am trying to make reading for pleasure a priority.

Inspiration: The cool thing about my job is that I get to work with so many different people with such different goals from such different walks of life. I am inspired daily by them!

Motivational Technique: It's so important for me to establish a good relationship with my patients, but also maintain the idea of self responsibility. I could be the best physical therapist on the planet, but unless he or she truly wants to get better and is willing to do the work (or sometimes take the break), our end game will be weak!

Favorite Restaurant: I'll defer to Garrett's answer on this one, but take me to Torchy’s or Mellow Mushroom any day.

How did you come across enduraLAB? Via social media in the early days. I was in PT school, but I would frequently come to the free runs/workouts back at the old OLD location off of west 7th Street. Once I graduated and started making a paycheck, I immediately joined.

Favorite / Least Favorite Workouts: I LOVE the chipper workouts. I like the mental and physical grind....least, I'll go with Garrett, the max days.

Song: Hate me for it, but I'll rock a NICKELBACK playlist any day, at any time.

Bucket List: Shamefully we've never been overseas, so that's the plan ASAP! Second, I would like a pool in the backyard (clearly there is no passive aggressiveness here).